People at work

Scorpiorising

1st Like
Media
I'm irked.
I am one of many independent business persons in a small facility. I work as a massage therapist. Let me start by saying that I had to learn a great deal about the human body-anatomy, kinesiology, myology, pathology, and of course massage. I am also the on-site yoga instructor (I have 14 years experience).

Anyway, I just finished teaching a yoga class and found L, as we will call her, talking to a former student of mine. L is a reiki practitioner. My former student was explaining that she was out due to a torn rotator cuff she had suffered two months ago. She was in physical therapy. Of course, I told her that I could help her with massage and asked which muscle exactly she had injured. She didn't know, so I wanted to assess her range of motion and was in the midst of asking her to lift her arm when L started saying, 'No, don't make her do that. That's not a good idea.'

Long story short. After my former student left, I took L aside to explain that I was doing what was in the scope of my practice and that she was NOT to demean my judgement in front of a client again. I mean, REALLY. I didn't go through a gruelling course in school and get straight A's to be supervised by some energy worker that is completely untrained in my field. Yes, I'm a pissed off yoga instructor. Apparently, she is very angered with me and doesn't want to let it go, but I also refuse to let up on my ground.

Anyone else have to deal with this kind of crap? How do you deal with it?

ClaireTalon

Experimental Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
That's more familiar to me than you might think. A lot of people, ranking Major upwards, have tried to push me around or to discredit my professional judgement. Just good that it's called Air Force and not Ground Force, and the pilots have the power :tongue:.