Photgraphy

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by WildHoney, Aug 8, 2007.

1. WildHoney

Gold Member

Hi guys,

This is for the Photographers out there.

I am an amateur photgrapher ( mostly kids and families so wont post links to my pics) - I shoot with an SLR digital cannon cameras ( which i love and use)

I want to learn how to use Adobe photoshop now. I am used to editing photo's with other programs , but never on a semi professiona scale.

anyway.....my dilemea is this.

Should I do a course through a tafe ( umm college? in USA) - The courses are mostly 20/1 and are over 6 months ,once a week, 2 hours at a time - me being impatient, I want to speed the process up a bit.

Do you think i could learn all I need to learn through hiring someone who was competant in adobe photshop , to teach me privately?

I was thinking of advertising for someone locally to come over for maybe 5 hours a week and teach me. Would 30 dollars an hour be enough? Do you think there are enough people around that know that program really well for me to get much of a response from that?

Thanks
    xx
    Honey

2. D_Gunther Snotpole

D_Gunther Snotpole Account Disabled

If you can be reasonably sure that you've found someone good, I think that would be a very good plan.
    Perhaps you could inquire at a local photography school, if there's one in your town.
    There's always a few students who are exceptionally quick to master these things, and they generally can use some extra money.
    I would think 30 dollars an hour would be if anything generous.

3. SpoiledPrincess

Gold Member