Privacy in Cyberspace

aliveboi

Experimental Member
Media
I'm a law student working on a paper regarding the Fourth Amendment, privacy, and cyberspace.

There's quite a debate as to whether there can truly be any privacy in cyberspace. It provides a public forum where people meet and exchange ideas. To communicate in cyberspace you have to be connected through channels operated by 3rd parties and thus subject to monitoring. Plus, computers connected to the internet are subject to vulnerability due to advances hackers make each day cracking security. Given these factors, can anyone in cyberspace really believe any is any privacy when connected to a virtual space?

I'd be interested in anyone's opinion as to what should be the measure of a person's subjective expectation of privacy in cyberspace.

36DD

Experimental Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
I've actually been called paranoid for this very reason, but I do not believe there can be complete privacy exactly because of the reasons you've given. I try to keep my identity private...I have a rather impressive family that I do not want to subject to any scrutiny and so my privacy is of extreme importance to me and I take measures to protect it...I have several surnames...my married name, my family name, and my pen name, yet still I worry.

Bbucko

Cherished Member
Media
Sexuality
90% Gay, 10% Straight
There is no real privacy anywhere, certainly not online.

The simplest thing to do is keep honest. Don't say or do anything online you wouldn't do face-to-face.

HazelGod

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
99% Straight, 1% Gay
I'd be very interested to read your paper once it's completed. As an IT professional, I have a technical understanding of the infrastructure that most do not...as one considering a career change that involves law school, I'd like to know how application of the protections of the Fourth are being interpreted in the realm of online interactions.