Protein Shakes

Lex

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
99% Gay, 1% Straight
Hey gang,

I have been working out for a little over 2 years now and am wanting to add some protein shakes to my eating regime. I am looking for something that: tastes good (I do not like chocolate), can be mixed with water, and packs a good amount of protein. I am not committed to whey, egg or soy.

Any suggestions?

Steve26

1st LPSG Member
Gold
Platinum Gold
Media
Hi Lex -- I've recently discovered a brand called Designer Whey, which is significantly better tasting than others I've tried. The only problem for you is, I've only tried it in chocolate, and don't know what other flavors they may offer or how those taste. The Designer Whey also dissolves very well in water, which cannot be said for all protein powders.

I've always used whey protein, as opposed to soy or egg. I don't have any particularly good reason for that, other than the general sense that it's what most lifters use.

Most whey proteins I have used have been pretty comparable nutritionally, packing 22-25 grams of protein per 1/3-cup scoop. (When I have a shake I add two scoops of powder.) Pay attention also to carbs; you should avoid anything with more than 5 grams of carbs per serving.

For all I know Designer Whey might not be the highest-quality whey protein product; I bought it at BJ's Wholesale Club, for only about $15 for a 3.5-lb. carton (which is CHEAP).

Personally, I've found an inverse correlation between cost and taste; the nastiest thing I've ever tried was a pretty pricey ($40-50 for 5 lbs.) "strawberry" shake that had this incredibly gross flavor and gave me heartburn. If you don't like chocolate, I'd suggest vanilla over anything purporting to be berry or fruit flavored. Reeves makes a vanilla whey powder that is pretty good, for about $30-40 for a 5-lb. jug.

I can't believe you've been lifting all this time *without* protein shakes!! Had I known I would've suggested something long ago.

Steve :wink: