'Puter Problems: White Screen of Death

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by D_Gunther Snotpole, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. D_Gunther Snotpole

    D_Gunther Snotpole Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,610
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just recently, I've been putting my computer on 'stand by' when I'm leaving it for any period of time.
    Problem is that if I'm away for any period of time, I find that I have a white screen showing and no way of getting the computer to do anything.
    So I wind up unplugging it, plugging it back in, and then pushing the start button to bring the thing to life again.
    Obviously, this shouldn't be happening.
    What's wrong? Theories?
    I ran a virus scan and it showed no viruses.
    Sumpin's gotta give ... but what?

    Second problem (way less impotent, um, important) ... my Yahoo mail account is sending advertisements for Viagra to me.
    Would this mean that my Yahoo account has been hijacked on the level of the Internet, i.e., not on my computer itself? (Because I have no virus.)
    I've changed the password but this still happens several times a week.
    I haven't heard from anyone on my contacts list that they've received a Viagra ad from me.
    So what gives, babes?
    WTF gives?
     
  2. HazelGod

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,531
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Other Side of the Pillow
    It might help us help you to know the specs on the machine you're having the problem with, Huckster...

    ...then again, it might not.
    :biggrin1:
     
  3. Pendlum

    Verified Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,151
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Verified:
    Photo
    How long have you had this computer, how long since the current OS has been on it, and what OS is it? Have you installed any new software? What programs do you leave running on? Have you tried closing out all unimportant programs before putting it in stand by? Ever had problems with over heating? Any crashes or freezes happen while just using your computer recently?

    It's hard to tell with so little info. Worst case scenario is a piece of hardware is going bad.
     
  4. D_Gunther Snotpole

    D_Gunther Snotpole Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,610
    Likes Received:
    5
    I bought the computer about a year ago, used, with a warranty, which I imagine has now run out.
    It has a dual-core Athlon processor ... 320 gig hard drive with 298 gigs free, CPU usage at 0 percent (so it says), and 48 processes operating.
    I have XP on it, which is what it came with. However, I temporarily had Linux on it, but I took that off because I was having problems accessing, from home, the website of the place where I work.
    Does that help?

    I have AVG anti-virus software, which I've run a couple of times without any virus showing.

    This info help?
     
    #4 D_Gunther Snotpole, Jul 8, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2010
  5. Pendlum

    Verified Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,151
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Verified:
    Photo
    Not particularly, sadly. Do you have your XP install disc with key, or recovery discs? What I would do is back up all of the files I want to keep, and of course the ones you need to keep, and do a completely fresh install.

    If you don't want to do that, you should back up your files anyways, just in case. External HDs are great for that.
     
  6. D_Gunther Snotpole

    D_Gunther Snotpole Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,610
    Likes Received:
    5
    I just may do that. I have a recovery disc.
    It's a little awkward right now, though.
    Maybe in a few days ...


    I back up anything of any consequence.
    I will be thinking of anything further to back up, things that have slipped my mind. (Yes, external HDs are great.)

    Did having 48 processes in the background seem normal to you, Penlum?

    I do seem kinda jinxed with computers, I must say.
     
  7. Mr. Snakey

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24,702
    Likes Received:
    25
    #7 Mr. Snakey, Jul 8, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2010
  8. Pendlum

    Verified Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,151
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Verified:
    Photo
    This is a brand new install of XP home on my laptop, and I have 52 processes running.

    Do you have the latest updates for XP installed? I remember I had a problem that I was in a way able to reproduce. An important process would die, and not start up again, preventing me to go online. It didn't do it instantly, luckily, but after 4 or 5 hours it would kick in, and I would have to restart. Both times I was able to solve the problem by updating XP through Windows Update, and both times it happened when I wasn't fully updated, if I took the time to see where I was so to speak in updating (I have dial up, it takes a long time to update), I'd be willing to bet that both times it was at the same juncture. Anyway, you may want try that.

    If you do do the fresh install, one of the first things you should try is to put your computer on stand by, and wait for however long it usually takes for this problem to occur and see if it happens. If it does happen, you can pretty much guarantee that it is a hardware issue. If it doesn't happen, the problem most likely stemmed from a program leaking memory, just poor software design on something you use, or junk data.
     
  9. dreamer20

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,492
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    N.Providence
    I also get unsolicited spam in my yahoo account for penis enlargement, impotence & other pharmaceutical drugs. I've concluded that this spam must bear revenue for yahoo & other free email providers and am no longer bothered by finding this spam in the spam section of my account.
     
  10. D_Gunther Snotpole

    D_Gunther Snotpole Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,610
    Likes Received:
    5
    But this spam shows as coming from my own Yahoo account.
    From me to me.
    I'm not worried about the other stuff that comes from other peoples' accounts.
     
  11. crescendo69

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,142
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    I keep getting links for Viagra sites sent to me, suppossedly by my Yahoo contacts, who I know are not sending them. It shows their correct email addresses, too.
     
  12. dreamer20

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,492
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    N.Providence
    That's a nifty trick I've seen occur in my gmail spam account. It occurs when the sender of spam has the ability to write any sender & sendee heading in the email. Luckily in such cases gmail, unlike yahoo, has notified me that I didn't send the email and that it was deceptively mislabeled by the sender.
     
  13. rbkwp

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    29,338
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,954
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland (AUK, NZ)
    Can Never win with these things huh Hhuck
    6 months ago i brought a 270$ laptop old as, and it performs better than my Hyundai Flash job with built in Cam and all ha
    (i use this one ALL the time)
    All the BESt of luck, its what ya need by the sound of it, just like some of them FWC Teams ha
    Cheers
    enz
    Cres there is a way to stop that from happening, apparently you get your friends to go in to there ..whatever, and place a few numerals and a false addy into there,
    -below is my UK friends info who has succesfully made the above happen TWICE Now, after i was receiving a lot of unsolicited shite'
    enz
    I'm hoping I've got this sorted now, the address I created - 00000@aol.cool - should be the first thing it sends to and therefore as there is no such address it can't send it so cant send more. But its not working and I think it was because its saved as spam stop - so therefore it comes under s alphabetically, now I've taken the words out of my address book it should come first and you'll get no more of these.
    Hopefully :-D
    an address like that always used to work before
     
  14. D_Gunther Snotpole

    D_Gunther Snotpole Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,610
    Likes Received:
    5
    I downloaded Malwarebytes and did a scan .... the results only mentioned that I had some low-risk cookies, so I don't imagine the computer's problem is with malware.
    Perhaps Pendlum is right ... a hardware problem.
    Now, that would piss me off.
    Computer's much the most powerful I've ever owned and not all that old.
     
  15. Mr. Snakey

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24,702
    Likes Received:
    25
    Sorry i missed this my friend. If you are putting your computer on standby or asleep for long periods of time it can cause the white screen of death and you will have to reboot to fix it. In my opinion it is not a good idea to ever put a computer on standby. It can harm your computer. Stop putting it on standby and see if it fixes your problem. I bet you it will. Give it a shot.
     
  16. JF

    JF
    Gold Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,296
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    As has been said, Spammers can, and do, spoof the apparent sender and recipient of their e-mails. Therefore, it is entirely possible that they have your email address from another source (they harvest these from web pages, forums, newsgroups etc) and are spoofing your details without actually having access to your Yahoo mailbox. If you have changed your password to something obscure and not used for any other account, they can't be hacking your mailbox, so are just spoofing.

    If the scans from two programs on your PC show as being clean, then I don't see anything to worry about there.

    As for your other PC problem - are you actively selecting 'standby' mode when you leave your PC or does it have a time-out before the power saving mode kicks in and puts your PC to sleep that way ? If it is the latter, check Control Panel, then Power options and see what is set in there. It could be that if you change to a different power scheme it will behave differently so you can start to eliminate settings etc.

    Hope this helps.
     
  17. Incocknito

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,567
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La monde
    JF isn't as stupid as he looks.

    Emails can be modified to display certain information such as email addresses which are different to the actual sender's. It's quite common.

    As for your screen problem...go to Start > Control Panel and check your power options.

    Specifically about the monitor etc. I would set it to Turn Off Monitor > Never

    That's as far as my laptop knowledge goes
     
  18. D_Gunther Snotpole

    D_Gunther Snotpole Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,610
    Likes Received:
    5
    To be frank, I only began having the problem when I started to put the computer on standby.
    So you're probably right.
    My usual thing is to just leave the computer on ... like for days.
    And when I was doing that, I had no problem.
    But I worried about wasting power ... and you know, loving the planet, etc.

    I will stop putting it on standby.

    I had - only recently - been actively seeking standby mode.
    I know other people use it without problems.
    However, my computer seems to be one of the susceptible ones.

    I did just move all my pictures and vids over to my external hard drive and follow that up with a defrag.
    The whole machine seems to behave more crisply now.

    Um, it's an HP tower, my friend.
    Laptops are for wusses.:cool:
     
    #18 D_Gunther Snotpole, Jul 9, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2010
  19. Mr. Snakey

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24,702
    Likes Received:
    25
    It's fine to leave your computer running for days at a time. It will in fact run more efficiently and keep it in good condition. However give it a rest period after that. Back in the first days of computers it was thought to never turn a computer off to keep it in good condition. They no longer say that, however they still say to keep it in good condition make sure you run it everyday a few hours. Just make sure you turn your monitor off, so you don't burn it out. Now i am talking about Desktops. Laptops are a whole other story. There simply are not as efficient as a desktop and have a shorter life span, in my opinion.
     
  20. hud01

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5,262
    Likes Received:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    new york city
    I reboot every night......unless you clear your cache manually why not. For my old machine, unless I do so, I get a virtual memory error
     
Draft saved Draft deleted