Quick DVD Recorder/Capture Question

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by B_ScaredLittleBoy, Apr 10, 2008.

  1. B_ScaredLittleBoy

    B_ScaredLittleBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,337
    Likes Received:
    8
    Right. Say I want to record the Component HD input from my XBOX 360 via a Panasonic DVD Recorder that I speculatively own.

    Do I need a component splitter (so that the signal can be split two ways; TV-Xbox360 and TV-DVD Recorder? I assume I do...

    Then the real question is...does the DVD recorder only record 'what it sees' ie the channel I'm watching. Or would I be able to select a channel/input to record while being on a another (eg record HDMI while watching TV).

    What I mean is...will it work :tongue:. These Panasonic DVD Recorders aren't cheap.
     
  2. ZOS23xy

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,073
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    directly above the center of the earth
    There are a lot of hacker sites on the net in dealing with this. Even on Amazon.com, they publish out a lot of details.

    I discovered from Amazon's reviews, that virtually all new DVD players can be adjusted to be region free and will play anything.

    Anyway, my older set up of DVD/VHS/video games allows me to play games, and record a channel. You might flub up a few times, but that's to be expected.

    There's a device for home theaters which is your basic unit for input and output, where everything is linked and can the controls will allow you to do what you want.

    If I am not too clear, perhaps others much more savvy than I can fill in extra details.
     
  3. B_ScaredLittleBoy

    B_ScaredLittleBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,337
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have read around the subject and apparently I need a splitter so that the recorder can see and 'hear' the component channel.

    My question really was...can you only record the channel you're on or any channel? I know on a VHS you used to be able to select a channel to record...but I'm not sure how these DVD recorders work.

    Another thing is, I just want a DVD recorder...not one with Freeview...preferably a cheap one :tongue:
     
  4. faceking

    faceking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    7,535
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    110
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mavs, NOR * CAL
    Problem is yer fighting against Macrovision.
     
  5. faceking

    faceking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    7,535
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    110
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mavs, NOR * CAL
    Scratch that... I see what you're trying to do here.... can you send/record through your computer instead (would be so much easier... a la being software based vs hardware based in a very tightly controlled artifact [a la game stations DVD recorder vs. computers])?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted