Quick electrical question: (amps of AC adapter?)

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by mindseye, Feb 29, 2008.

1. mindseye

Gold Member

The AC adapter for my old laptop (the laptop is dead, but I still have the adapter) matches the specs of my new AC adapter -- same voltage, same polarity, but the old AC adapter is rated at 6.5 amps, and the new one is rated at 3.42 amps.

I think it's safe to continue to use the old adapter. My understanding is that the amperage is the maximum amount of power the adapter can supply, and the new laptop will just draw less than the maximum.

Can someone verify this? I'd prefer not to find out experimentally that my understanding is wrong. ;)

2. SpeedoGuy

Gold Member

Albums:
    That matches my understand as well. But I'm not an electrical engineer so I can not offer any more surety beyond what you've reasoned for yourself.

3. B_Think_Kink

B_Think_Kink New Member

Google your adapter (if you know the brand and model #) it will tell you all the computers it can be used with. I was able to do that for my spare ac adapter.

4. D_Goldsworthy Fingernuts

I am sure that i can find something in my readers digest that will help hold on!!! No noting about big cocks and ampage here? :)

5. faceking

faceking Active Member

Albums:
    THAT IS VERY BAD... discontinue now. ESPECIALLLLLLLLLLLLLY with a friggin' 3 ampere difference. That's big bad, no bueno. Maybe a handfull of milliamps, would be fine, as it would get buffered out, per se. But 3.... sweet jesus.

Ohm's Law is something to not F with.

Laptops are not heavy duty... and their motherboards run on extremely known currents... at a minimum it will screw up for battery memory, but over time... wouldn't be shocked if something fries for good on the board... as clock times and so forth need their currents expected.... and may tax a bit much in order to meet the demands and processing for their place in the "chain of command", per se.

6. dong20

Gold Member