RELIGION

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by Imported, Apr 6, 2004.

1. Imported

Gold Member

roedhunt: OK folks. I read in several topics that the subject of religion comes up, but it is/is not relative to the original topic. Maybe religion was a topic awhile ago, but I will start one now..

Now remember all, this is ONLY a discussion and not a judgment of people’s beliefs. So be nice. ::)

I'll start this with my own beliefs (which I KNOW will open a big can of worms...).

Like many, I was raised under the belief that God exists and Jesus Christ was my savior. Through the years, I studied many types of religions, wondering why there was so many forms. Something was always gnawing at me with questions in mind. How did this all start? Was it the first religion? And so forth.

Through studying, I found out that Paganism was before Christianity. So I read about it and learned the Christians abolished all religions and demanded that this was the ONLY religion. Christians were taught to judge other religions and convert everyone to Christianity. If they refused, they were punished. Some by death.

Even today, Christians still judge others that do not believe in Christianity. They try to make others feel that their religion is wrong and that they will burn in hell. Or, question them on WHY they don't believe in Christ or God. They believe that the "Good Book" is the ONLY way to live and believe in.

For me, it burns my ass that I am to be judged instead of acknowledging that there IS other religions and that THEIRS is not the only one.... :mad:

2. Imported

Gold Member

wvalady1968: [quote author=roedhunt link=board=99;num=1081230359;start=0#0 date=04/05/04 at 22:36:59] For me, it burns my ass that I am to be judged instead of acknowledging that there IS other religions and that THEIRS is not the only one....  :mad:

[/quote]