sign language?

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by DC_DEEP, Feb 15, 2007.

1. DC_DEEP

Gold Member

How many do we have here who know some form of sign language? ASL or Signed American English, fingerspelling, sign language in another country besides USA?

I started learning Signed American English many years ago, and took a sign language class in college, but have never gained a lot of proficiency because I had no one with whom to practice. I'm in a situation now where I have lots of contact with a lot of deaf and hard of hearing persons, and I spend a LOT of time with an instructor at Gallaudet University, so I'm learning massive amounts of "vocabulary" and even some ASL "grammar."

2. Wrey

Wrey New Member

Apprehension of Sign Language is no different from any other language. We have a window of opportunity, 3 - 7 years of age, where we are open to imprinting linguistic code in our mind in an organic fashion. After that, learning another language can be very difficult for most. I speak Spanish, English, French, Russian, a little Slovak, and a little Czech. I come from a poliglot household, more than one language. When I trained as an interpreter in the USAF, the majority of individuals who did well also came from poliglot homes.

More than one language in your background?

3. Onslow

Gold Member

I learned the basics years back for my youngest brother who is completely deaf (as opposed to those with severe loss, his is total). Unfortunately I did not take it seriously enough and was already drifting into trouble by the time he came along (I drifted early). When last I saw him, which was in the summer of 2000, our communication was done either in writing on paper or through his wife or children. I am sorry to say I had forgotten most of it, but during our 3 day visit some of it returned to me, although I have rahter clumsy hands so it's as if I sign with a lisp.

4. DC_DEEP

Gold Member