Skin Bleaching

Discussion in 'Relationships, Discrimination, and Jealousy' started by D_Andreas Sukov, Dec 26, 2009.

1. D_Andreas Sukov

D_Andreas Sukov Account Disabled

do people still do this? im putting this in this forum because i see this as descrimination. from what ive seen in some Black women's magazines adverts for creams to make the skin whiter. why is this still around? is there a pressure on black women to have lighter skin? does this pressure come from just white people or from both sides?

2. ThickPup

Verified Gold Member

Albums:
    Verified:
    Photo
    I wonder what this cream really is that you're speaking of.
    The only thing I've ever heard of is depigmentation. This is
    something someone with vitiligo would use that has 50% or more
    loss of overall pigmentation on their body. It's not something that would
    be handed out to anyone. I read about this awhile back. I'm by no means an expert, just something I read in a medical paper.

Again, I'm not sure what products you're referring to.

3. D_Andreas Sukov

D_Andreas Sukov Account Disabled

4. FatHiptedMama

FatHiptedMama New Member

I've heard that in Asia that lighter skin is desireable on women. I once dated a guy from India who unabashadely said women with lighter skin were considered prettier in his culture. I've also heard that women in south Asia have been disfigured from lightening creams with toxic ingredients. I've also heard that in Africa, some cultures there seem to desire paler women (but not necessarily as pale as white women)
    Being a very pale white woman in America I found this very mind boggeling. Here white women are risking skin cancer to get darker. I've been told that I looked pale and sickly and should get a tan. (BTW not all white people can acquire a tan, and just because some of us can doesn't mean we should. Skin cancer is a very real risk for white people who tan, but it's your body do what you want, and no, no tanning beds are not safe).