1. badboybryce

badboybryce Active Member

Albums:
    I may switch careers and join the entertainment industry in broadcasting or film/tv production. I hear that there are two REAL ways of making it in:

Knowing someone who's already in, or sleeping with someone to get in. And this is usually same gender sex.

Is anyone in the industry or know someone who is? Can you/they attest to any of this? I would really appreciate all honest comments.

2. B_Jennuine73

B_Jennuine73 New Member

I wish I could answer your question about the way american companies work. All I can say is over here, having connections is almost necessary. Unless you excel and are exceptional in your school work.
    I have my journalism degree and you develop contacts through your programs from school anyway.

I doubt if I helped, but I want to say all the best of luck to you, whatever you decide.

3. TforTrapeze

TforTrapeze Member

Albums:
    i am in the THEATER industry, and if this helps:

NO JOB you have to sleep with someone to get is worth having

NOW, in response to getting a job in entertainment the REAL way,
    there are 3 tiers when you audition that you get put in: A, B, and C.
    You will start as A: a person the director doesn't know and hasn't heard anything about. If you work real hard, you'll eventually get to B

B: a person the director has heard you've worked with someone THEY know, your reputation has bounced up a bit. THen they might move you to column C.

C: a person the director knows of, you've worked with someone THEY know, and now they want to work with you.

Sleeping with someone for a job, is pointless. Who you've worked with, and what they think of you is the most important thing.

Good luck.

4. avg_joe

Gold Member

I heard that Katie Couric did both. :biggrin1:

5. msu_hotboy

msu_hotboy New Member

Albums:
    I'M in school right now for journalism!
    I wanna become a news anchor.
    As far as knowing someone (THAT'S TRUE)