Teaching As A Profession

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by chicagosam, Apr 17, 2011.

?

Would you enter or reccommend anyone entering the teaching profession today?

1. Yes

12 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. No

12 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. chicagosam

Gold Member

#1 chicagosam, Apr 17, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2011
  2. pleasureboy

Verified Gold Member

Albums:
    Verified:
    Photo
    I work in education, albeit more international than K-12, but I don't know that I'd recommend it to most people for a career.

It can be very enjoyable, but the people who 'run it' are for the most parts idiots who have degrees taught by other idiots on how to be an idiot. They generally don't have more than a basic grasp of the subject they teach and most seem to show little interest in changing that.

Even with changes that would completely overhaul the existing system you'd still be looking forward to a career of working with nothing but petty, lazy, uninformed people who just don't care and it's that more than the pay or other things that makes working in education in the US such a blah option.

3. nudeyorker

Gold Member

It's difficult for me to say really; I discontinued being a teacher and I worked in a great school with support and funds but because I just really did not have the calling and my heart was not in it. But I think that if someone does have it and is willing to try to help bring about change knowing the challenges then yes I would because I admire many teachers who help make a difference in the lives of so many.
    So I would have to vote No for myself and Perhaps for others.

#3 nudeyorker, Apr 17, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2011
  4. sagifan

sagifan Member

Albums: