Thanksgiving

earllogjam

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
How do you celebrate Thanksgiving and does it mean anything special to you? How do you feel about getting together with "family"?

Anything unusual about your Thanksgivings?

nudeyorker

Admired Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Gay, 0% Straight
I invite friends who can't or don't have family to visit. I cook a great meal and we all give thanks for our lives and friendship.
And we eat too much...because I'm a great cook!

whatireallywant

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
This year will be the first Thanksgiving I have spent away from my family. Neither my family nor I can afford to pay for two trips from Texas to Indiana or Indiana to Texas (My parents are paying for my airfare for Christmas, since I cannot afford airfare at all this year.)

Not to worry though - I will not be spending Thanksgiving alone. I will be at a dinner with one of the clubs I'm in, and actually I think several clubs are having Thanksgiving dinners. I'm going to the one where I know the greatest number of people.

ZOS23xy

Sexy Member
Media
In my wife's family, the holidays were the times all emotional short circuits and unforgiven lapses came to the surface and blistered everyone.

There have been many holidays I just stay home. Family does not need a special day--that should always be open. It seems "holidays" are when the demons pop up in the skills of the hurt family members and they have the attention of all those who have attended that special day....

...its just a lot of crud I don't need.

DC_DEEP

Sexy Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
My birthday and Thanksgiving are close together, sometimes on the same day.