"The Catch"

Discussion in 'Women's Issues' started by TylerDurden, Feb 23, 2006.

1. TylerDurden

TylerDurden New Member

This question came up last night durig a talk with a few of the girls I graduated high school with, and I thought it would translate to an interesting discussion here - Ladies, do you prefer a man to think that you're a "catch," to pamper you and generally be like a man out of a romance novel? Or do you like a more cocky-type, with an attitude that he's the catch for you, and who makes you work for the affection?

Our discussion ended with the ladies agreeing to disagree, as they were divided right about 50/50 on this.

2. ClaireTalon

Gold Member

Really, neither of those, taken pure, is the real deal for me. I love a cocky man, someone who is deciding, has a clear line of thinking and a forward attitude. I don't like players, weirdos or guys who think that it's all about the big appearance. Neither do I want guys to become all sappy, softish. It irritates me enormously. So, the romance novel type of guy is missing in action too.

If you want to have a good description of a man that's attractive to me, take a look at the 1964 (or 63?) movie Mirage, starring Gregory Peck and Diane Baker. Take a look at it.

3. PussyWellington

Albums:

How about a combination of the both. A guy who's cocky enough to know that I'm a catch and responds accordingly. In his endeavours I realize he's a catch and we're both caught.

A man out of a romance novel...I'm picturing Fabio on the cover of some thin, carefully read dusty mills and boon....no way......sounds a bit dated for me. Romance however will never go out of style. I was always more inclined towards a Jackie Collins (before I discovered literature).

4. madame_zora

Gold Member