The Magic Tree

thisisshsas

Experimental Member
Media
Long time reader. This is my first attempted story. Chapter one is just setting the table for everything else to happen. Hope everyone is intrigued. Any feedback would be very welcome.

Chapter 1

John woke up groggy. A 26 year old bartender and waiter, mornings were always the hardest for him. Waking up at 8 am was always the goal, but 9 am happened more often than not. Part of the reason he enjoyed his profession (and sucked every time he branched out) was that waking up so late was not a hindrance to his profession.

Grabbing a banana, his tablet, and pouring a cup of coffee, John sat down in the family room to catch up on his twitter feed and favorite sports websites. The coffee was luke-warm, as one of his roommates, Alex, had left for work at the National Institute of Health well over an hour ago. John didn’t mind coffee luke-warm, he just appreciated that Alex brewed enough for two every morning. His other roommate, Zach, was over at his girlfriend’s place, and probably wouldn’t have waked up for another few hours even if he were home. Though Zach worked the same sort of hours as John, he was always more of a night owl than John. Even if he weren’t out drinking, Zach would often be up until 4 am watching movies with his girlfriend, reading, or even writing. Thankfully John and Zach were heavy sleepers and were rarely woken up by Zach. That and Zach was a fantastic cook; something he gained from years working as a cook at restaurants.