The Sulcus:

Discussion in 'The Healthy Penis' started by Vagus, Dec 6, 2010.

1. Vagus

Vagus New Member

To be clear does this refer to a part of the glans or part of the inner-foreskin?

2. Snozzle

Verified Gold Member

Albums:
    Verified:
    Photo
    Both or neither. That's a bit like asking whether the equator is in the northern or southern hemisphere. The sulcus is the groove between them, so it's more of a geometric effect than "part" of anything.

3. silvertriumph2

Verified Gold Member

Albums:
    Verified:
    Photo

I'm no doctor, but if I remember it correctly from school...to simplify it, the penis is made
    up of the GLANS (bulbous head), the SHAFT NECK, the SHAFT, and the SHAFT BASE at the pubes.

The GLANS (head) includes the "meatus" which is the opening to the urethra from which we pee, etc....the "sulcus" is at the base of the glans where the deep grove begins
    under the base of the glans...and where the "neck" of the penis begins at the shaft.

If I also remember it correctly, the foreskin (before being cut) is part of the shaft skin
    that moves and stretches over and covering the glans...and is attached at the frenulum
    under the meatus. This extra, or lose skin, when cut leaves the shaft, neck, and glans
    uncovered. Sometimes the frenulum is cut and sometimes it is kept in tact.

But I may be wrong.....but I hope not...

I was cut as an infant but my frenulum was left intact.

#3 silvertriumph2, Dec 7, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
  4. mandoman

Gold Member

There is no 'extra' skin on a penis.
    It's all there because it has evolved that way, because it benefits.

5. Vagus

Vagus New Member

I think Silvertriumph2 said that it's part of the mucus membrane of the glans, not the skin behind it. But I'm not sure.

6. SirConcis

Gold Member

Albums: