Time travel, it here... or is that was, will, be, here?

Black_Shinobii

Just Browsing
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
That was quite an interesting concept. I don't quite understand all the physics he was talking about but his example gave me the gist of the theory he was explaining.

Being able to time travel back only how long the machine has been on reminds me of the Prince of Persia video games where if you made a mistake you could rewind time to a certain limit to change how things occurred.

Viking_UK

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
90% Gay, 10% Straight
Interesting theory, but it does have a few problems as I understand physics. I'm no expert though, and never could get my head round the more complicated theoretical physics, so I'm happy to be proved wrong. I may be oversimplifying things but given the current laws on conservation of energy and matter, time travel - at least backwards should be impossible. The amount of energy in the universe is constant. It can only be converted to and from matter or into other forms of energy, not created or destroyed. If you send a particle back in time, it's going to exist twice at the same time, unless you've created it to be sent back, in which case, unless you bring it forward again, it's still going to exist twice in the time in which it was created which would mean that in effect there was an increase in the amount of energy in the universe, and actually, the original energy used to create the particle would exist in back time, so there's a contradiction anyway. The same idea holds true for forwards time travel as well, because if you send something forward in time, it disappears from the universe in the meantime, thereby reducing the amount of energy.

Now, if this boffin can rewrite the law of relativity to incorporate that, and come up with proof, I'm willing to revise my view, but I don't think we need to start worrying about time paradoxes and Terminators just yet.

Rugbypup

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality