Torn about holiday plans (aka another Xmas thread)

Tattooed Goddess

Worshipped Member
Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
60% Straight, 40% Gay
May I pick your brains my fellow thinkers of LPSG?

I am still torn about whether or not I should go over to my mother-in-laws for Xmas. She has her other grandchildren there (they are boys in every sense of the word but on top of that they are allowed to scream and yell over the adults and act any way they please) and I'm afraid I will die of an aneurism from all the stress. I usually have to take anxiety medication and smoke some marijuana to even be able to do it and even at that I'm afraid I'm not very good at dealing with it. It's pretty obvious that I'm the Frasier Crane of the party.

My husband asked me yesterday if I plan on going. I am only 1 week post op today and I'd love to use the surgery as an excuse NOT to go. They would all understand. But Christmas doesn't come around for another year and people will be there from out of state that I normally don't see and haven't seen in a very long time.

I am motivated by good cooking and it is literally hit or miss when it comes to what to expect. This is where the marijuana really helps.

What do you all think?

Last edited by a moderator:

nudeyorker

Admired Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Gay, 0% Straight
Try calling ahead and say you would love to come and celebrate and see everyone but due to the stress and anxiety from the surgery and recovery you are still sensitive to loud noise and bright light and may need to leave early. This gives them a chance on their end to talk to the noisy children and if they don't and it's too much you have an easy out and can leave if it's unbearable. Hope you are feeling better!

I'd say no or...go for a compromise. Could you go over for Boxing Day or the day after - when it'll be quieter but there may still be some folks hanging round who you haven't seen for a while?