Valium

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by B_FruitFly, Mar 31, 2009.

1. B_FruitFly

B_FruitFly New Member

Anyone know which is a stronger drug, Valium 10mg or lorazepam 2.5mg?

2. Principessa

Gold Member

I'm not a doctor but this is what I got from wikipedia. Lorazepam vs. Valium I think it depends on what you need it for, which should be prescribed. I have had great success with Klonopin for my GAD.

3. B_stanmarsh14

B_stanmarsh14 New Member

Been on lorazepam myself before, and mum on Valium (Diazepam) equivlents.

Quoting from what my doctor tells me, lorazepam is normaly used before Valium, as lorazepam is concidered a more lighter duty type of treatment to Valium..

Now mum is on the 2mg type, but I do know from a neighbour who's got schizophrenia, as part of his treatment, he is on the 10mg type, which I understand is pretty strong, and deffo would be a stronger type of treatment, than to say use lorazepam.

#3 B_stanmarsh14, Mar 31, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2009
  4. slcnewlife64

slcnewlife64 New Member

Albums:
    lorazepan.

5. B_FruitFly

B_FruitFly New Member

I always thought Klonopin would be dangerous for me and i like lorazepam, but i need something alot stronger. I think i would also have to be able to take it during the day
    times hours while operating.

6. Principessa

Gold Member

Talk to your doc about it. I was prescribed .5 mg twice a day; but that was a bit too much for me, made me sleepy all the time. Now I break them in half and take .25 mg twice a day. No drowsiness and I function fine. In the past I have taken buspar started with 10 mgs a day and ended up at 40 mgs a day. That didn't do diddly for me.

I have a friend that used to take 1.0 mg 3 times a day then had to take Ambien at night to get to sleep. :yikes: If I took that dose I would be comatose.

7. B_cigarbabe

B_cigarbabe New Member