Wayne state gym openness - and college gyms in general

Yubdubs

Experimental Member
Media
Sexuality
90% Straight, 10% Gay
I've been attending Wayne State, and just started attending the gym there regularly hoping to build up. One thing that's been slightly disappointing though is that nudity in the locker room seems basically nonexistent. It seems so weird to me that a place like this can't be more open. The showers are all closed, with two sets of curtains, and lots of people bring all their clothes in there. I don't know how widespread this place really is, but I think it would be cool if this place would become more open to being freeing and not so closed up. (Maybe more than that too, but one step at a time with this :p)

I was curious if other gyms with a lot of college students noticed something similar to this as well. Because it's a bit of a downer honestly. lol

My alma mater went from completely open showers when I was a student (early to mid 90s), to open and stalls in 2010 to now completely stalls. Such a shame. It was there that I got over myself and became comfortable with male nudity. The dynamic of the locker room completely changed after that idiotic decision was made. I stopped going there once they did this and use the local Y which still has completely open showers even though the locker room was completely remodeled a couple of years ago.

Yubdubs

Experimental Member
Media
Sexuality
90% Straight, 10% Gay
Yeah, that really sucks. When I was younger, I wouldn't ever even want to take off my shirt around anybody, but eventually, with some places being more open, I was able to get over it, and stop worrying so much about how my body looked around other guys. My size and lack of big muscles stopped mattering to me after this, so it's a shame that others don't get that same opportunity as much. I'm glad some places have been able to keep open showers still, but it's a shame that it doesn't seem to be the case around here.

Reactions: nicnic

Gj816