weight gaining shakes

Discussion in 'Underwear, Clothing, and Appearance Issues' started by grandunification, Feb 3, 2009.

1. grandunification

grandunification Well-Known Member

Albums:
    I have been working out for several months now. I started at 150 and still weigh 150. I can bench a lot more than I used to lift though. I would like to gain 35 pounds over the next year or so. Is that impossible to imagine? I'm not trying to set my goals unrealistically.

I have heard that shakes can help a lot if you combine it with the weights. I was wondering if someone experienced in this area could recommend a good weight gaining shake to take that has no dangerous side effects?

Thanks,

grandunification

2. pym

pym New Member

It's Pure PHYSICS:
    To lose weight, you MUST burn more calories than you ingest.
    Apply the reciprocal.
    To gain weight, you MUST ingest more calories than you burn.
    To gain muscle mass you will need to increase your protien uptake.
    I was very thin as a teenager, in those days {before Protien powder shakes and supplements} I used to drink 2 Carnation instant breakfasts made with whole milk and 2 peanut butter sandwiches EVERY night....in addition to my normal food consumption.
    That helped me quite a bit.
    If you put on weight.....be sure it's muscle mass and not fat.
    If you increase your fat intake {milk/cheese/icecream} by a large degree....you may want to take a regular adult aspirin [325mg.] a day too.....helps to keep your arteries from clogging up.
    Above all exercise. Keep the cardio work-out up there with the weight training.
    Good-luck.

3. killerb

Verified Gold Member

Albums:
    Verified:
    Photo
    I was always very skinny...I tried shakes, pills, powders & ate massive quantities of food...

none of it helped me gain weight...

4. Dave NoCal

Gold Member

Albums: