Who are you?

earllogjam

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
How do you define yourself? Do you think it's important to know who you are and how you fit in society?

Do you immediately think of your job? Your role in life? Your ancestry? Your sex? Your accomplishments?

What key parts of you make up how you see yourself? see your future?

I think the typical answer to this goes like - I'm a 42 year old carpenter who is married and has two sons and a wife and my grandparents are from Ireland.

Is there anything more to one's life than this?

Does the way you define yourself make a difference on how happy you feel in the world?

An existential thought for the day - thoughtful posts EXTREMELY welcome here.

surferboy

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
90% Straight, 10% Gay
i'm a surfer of mixed ancestry born on o'ahu who is in school to become either a respiratory therapist or a nurse. i guess that's how i define myself?

vince

Legendary Member
Media
Sexuality
69% Straight, 31% Gay
hmmm... I'm going to have to think about that one and get back to you later earl.

D_Jared Padalicki

Account Disabled
Media
20 year old guy, who only knows one part of his family where he comes from.

If I'm a friend, I wanna be there for my friends. I'm there to listen and help, but like making fun too of course.

still a student, social enough, but also unsure about a lot of stuff.

midlifebear

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
60% Gay, 40% Straight
Well, if you understand Eckhart Tolle in addition to the teachings of others (Lao Te Zao, Buddha, etc.) you are no one once you recognize that fact, realizing it's your ego's need to feel stable is a major problem and then being able to escape that particular negative spiritual trap. So, for myself I working on how to perceive without naming. Takes practice just like learning to play the piano. Same rules apply for learning to appreciate and enjoy the empty space.

Flow and glow, children . . . flow and glow.

Not_Punny

Superior Member
Media