Who are you?

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by earllogjam, Jan 8, 2009.

1. earllogjam

Gold Member

How do you define yourself? Do you think it's important to know who you are and how you fit in society?

Do you immediately think of your job? Your role in life? Your ancestry? Your sex? Your accomplishments?

What key parts of you make up how you see yourself? see your future?

I think the typical answer to this goes like - I'm a 42 year old carpenter who is married and has two sons and a wife and my grandparents are from Ireland.

Is there anything more to one's life than this?

Does the way you define yourself make a difference on how happy you feel in the world?

An existential thought for the day - thoughtful posts EXTREMELY welcome here.

2. nudeyorker

Gold Member

It will be interesting to see the answers because I believe it changes as we evolve and get older!

3. surferboy

Gold Member

Albums:
    i'm a surfer of mixed ancestry born on o'ahu who is in school to become either a respiratory therapist or a nurse. i guess that's how i define myself?

4. vince

Gold Member

Albums:
    hmmm... I'm going to have to think about that one and get back to you later earl.

5. Pecker

Pecker Retired Moderator
    Gold Member

I'm a child of God who loves his fellow man.

And I have a big dong.

6. D_Jared Padalicki

D_Jared Padalicki Account Disabled

20 year old guy, who only knows one part of his family where he comes from.

If I'm a friend, I wanna be there for my friends. I'm there to listen and help, but like making fun too of course.

still a student, social enough, but also unsure about a lot of stuff.

7. midlifebear

Gold Member