Who are your heros?

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by D_Marazion Analdouche, Jun 4, 2008.

1. D_Marazion Analdouche

They can be anyone, relative, public figure, artist, who has greatly influenced your life?

I look up to and respect a lot of people throughout history and people of the modern day. People that have great work ethic or ideals they stick by, or people that have face various types of adversity and rose to the occasion and pushed through it. I have a way to many to list them all, a good portion of them are soldiers from various wars. Being a veteran I can very much respect what so many before me accomplished. There are very few well done "war movies" that don't make me start crying like a baby.

I can't tell you how many times I've watched "Band of Brothers", "We were soldiers" etc. There others, like in my Sig, Charles Bukowski for his blunt way with words. Martin Luther King for obvious reasons, Cal Ripken Jr, the list goes on.

The biggest hero and influence in my life however was my father by far. He never made a ton of money but always provided for us and was able to make sure his kids could have choices when they grew up. I owe a lot of what I've accomplished in life to him.

He was always firm but was also kind hearted when needed. No matter how many hours a week he worked, he would take me outside to learn how to catch, hit a ball etc. Made every effort to make events my sister and I had as much as he could. He taught us how to be proud, stick up for things we believe in and also how to be accepting towards others. The list of life lessons would take up pages and pages of posts so I'll keep it short.