Wide urethra?

Discussion in 'The Healthy Penis' started by garyfranklin, Nov 10, 2008.

1. garyfranklin

garyfranklin New Member

This is sort of medical/nursing question...I am a critical care nurse and had to put a foley catheter in a conscious male patient last night who had to lay flat. Foleys are standard size, 16 french for adult males. Anyway my patient had a very thick penis, and when I passed the catheter it was "loose" (side to side), like the guy had a very big urethra, and urine was coming out around the catheter as well as thru it. I know the catheter was in place. I waited and it kept draining that way, so then just pulled it. He had never had a foley before so he didn't know if this was normal for him. Rather than try to hunt down another size, I just had him use a urinal (lying down is tough for most men).
    I've never had this happen in my years of experience...any physicians, or nurses care to comment? Or members with a wide urethra?

2. Industrialsize

Staff Member Moderator Gold Member

Albums:
    I'm a nurse........if the patient was conscious and able to urinate by himself, what was the medical necessity to insert a foley catheter????

3. garyfranklin

garyfranklin New Member

STEMI patient, post cardiac cath, had to lie flat for a minimum of six hours; we have standing orders to place a foley if the patient can't void laying flat. we have to measure output hourly to ensure the contrast dye clears the patient's system.

4. Riven650

Gold Member

Albums:
    I'm not a nurse, but I don't think it would be unprofessional or unethical to comment to the patient that his urethra is wider than the average. It might have given him a cue to talk about it. It could just be that he was built that way, but it could be that he uses sounds. I know it's an unusual 'hobby', but there are a good few guys out there who like playing with sounds. For the uninitiated, sounds are smooth shiny metal probes that can be used to stretch the urethra.

5. bigmuscle12