Windows Is Shutting Down/Windows Is Restarting......

Discussion in 'Et Cetera, Et Cetera' started by HellsKitchenmanNYC, May 3, 2009.

  1. HellsKitchenmanNYC

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,848
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New York
    OVER AND OVER AND OVER. Has anyone else had this problem? It's been happening all day. I tried safe mode to run a virus scan..didn't work. Tried a system 'go back'....didn't work. I googled it and all the discussion board talk was so technical I couldn't make sense of it. Has this happened to you? Ack help I'm currently using my old laptop. Thx in advance ofr any knowledge!
     
  2. Deno

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,771
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    27
    need a bit more info then that, are you getting any error messages, what OS are you using, it could be anything from a dirty heat sink to a hard drive problem. Is windows booting fully then shuting down. Are you getting the windows has encountered a problem and needs to shut down message.
     
  3. Deno

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,771
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    27
    You might try entering set up and select boot from disk and try a repair with the original OS disk in the drive.
     
  4. HellsKitchenmanNYC

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,848
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New York
    I'm using Vista. When I restart the screen comes up and immediately I get that little window that says windows is blah blah blah. That's it. The desktop refreshes and it starts all over. What is entering set up and select boot?
     
  5. Mr. Snakey

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24,702
    Likes Received:
    25
    You should do a virus scan. You may have some key's in the registry that are infected. If it's starting up and shutting down you are infected. Do a scan now.
     
  6. HellsKitchenmanNYC

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,848
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New York
    I tried a scan in safe mode but didn't seem to finish. I can't do it in regular mode b/c windows keeps starting and stopping.
     
  7. Mr. Snakey

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24,702
    Likes Received:
    25
    The only other option is a system recovery. When it is starting up keep pressing f11. A screen should come up for full recovery to factory settings. Or if you have the recovery discs you can use them.
     
  8. Incocknito

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,567
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La monde
    So in Safe Mode it doesn't restart?

    Login to Safe Mode. Click My Computer > Right click C: and choose Explore

    Navigate to C:\Windows\System32

    Arrange the items by Date Created. You should see items close to todays date listed at the top.

    What you are looking for is suspicious .exe files or dll files with random names like jfdljdljd.dll.

    Delete any that you find. That would indicate a virus problem.

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    If this is a hardware issue, try to remove all non-essential devices (eg USB devices etc).

    If you added any new hardware recently such as cd drives or hard drives then remove them from the power supply.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    If Safe Mode isn't working, press F5 repeatedly after restarting and choose Safe Mode With Command Prompt.

    Then once you login type in:

    sfc /scannow (note the space)

    You will need an install CD in the drive in order for it to complete.
     
  9. HellsKitchenmanNYC

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,848
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New York
    Thx Sc but I don't have a disk. I'm trying a Spybot run now. Hopefully SOMETHING will work. EVen in safe mode I kept getting the windows saying Windows blah blah blah etc...
     
  10. HellsKitchenmanNYC

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,848
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New York

    If I do a full recovery won't I lose all my stuff that's on the desktop I downloaded etc? Pictures etc?
     
  11. Incocknito

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,567
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La monde
    Quickest way to restore functionality is to delete the suspicious files from System32. It's only what Spybot does anyway.

    Good luck.
     
  12. The Chosen One

    The Chosen One New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Well above the wet spot.
    Try to give us, some of the "blah blah blah etc...".
     
  13. Mr. Snakey

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24,702
    Likes Received:
    25
    Keep trying a scan. Spybot is very good and it might fix the problem. If you have other spyware and virus programs run them too. Last resort F11.
     
    #13 Mr. Snakey, May 3, 2009
    Last edited: May 3, 2009
  14. HellsKitchenmanNYC

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,848
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New York
    Even as the Spybot scan is running I'm getting enless windows that say Windows Explorer stoped working....Windows is restarting...
     
  15. Mr. Snakey

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24,702
    Likes Received:
    25
    F11 should have a option to back up some of your files. However yes you will lose some files. But then at least you will have your computer back to normal. Keep trying Spybot. I wouldn't recomend going into the registry or system 32 and deleting any files. This is playing with fire if you don't know what your doing.
     
  16. HellsKitchenmanNYC

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,848
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New York
    Yes everyone has told me not to F w/the registry and system32. Waiting for Spybot to finish and that can take awhile. I'm just not sure why any of the virus programs I have didn't recognize it if this is indeed the problem. It's VERY irritating and annoying.
     
  17. Mr. Snakey

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24,702
    Likes Received:
    25
    Keep trying all the virus programs. They are all good in catching different things.
     
  18. The Chosen One

    The Chosen One New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Well above the wet spot.
    Ahh, the "Windows Explorer stoped working....Windows is restarting... ". The least helpful of messages.

    Did you install anything, shortly before the loop began?
     
  19. B_dxjnorto

    B_dxjnorto New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    7,319
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southwest U.S.
    Go buy another hard drive and install Vista on it. Vista Home was (and probably still is) $89 free shipping on Newegg. Use your old hard drive as an auxiliary drive. Everything will still be on it--you can delete all the Windows files as you determine you don't need them. You won't need hardly any of it. Just your pictures, documents, music, etc.

    Then you just start off fresh and configure things as you want to, reinstall your other programs and etc.

    This is the lowest cost and lowest headache solution I know of when your computer doesn't function any more because your hard drive it is too full of spyware, adware and malware. Most of the time when it gets that bad, it's already too late to salvage your current Windows installation.
     
  20. HellsKitchenmanNYC

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,848
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New York
    No nothing. this all happened this afternoon. Spybot found nothing and the windows refresh too fast for me to bring anything else to run. Dong another restore. That takes forever too!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted