Windows Media Encoder

Discussion in 'Webcams / Cyber Connections' started by ziggity, Feb 12, 2005.

  1. ziggity

    ziggity New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    193
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area CA
    i just started using this program to broadcast with my webcam. it's much more stable and fast and has better resolution than msn or yahoo... and others can open your broadcast in Windows Media Player :)

    if you have broadband, try it! http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...&DisplayLang=en
     
  2. thufirhawat

    thufirhawat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    Indeed, i've made the test with Ziggity, and it's very high quality, both the picture quality and the subject quality :p

    *worshipping Ziggity* :wub:
     
  3. Pecker

    Pecker Retired Moderator
    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    83,922
    Likes Received:
    34
    I tried downloading it.

    You must have either Windows 2000 or XP to do it.

    I have ME.
     
  4. Lex

    Lex
    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,536
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In Your Darkest Thoughts and Dreams
    You ever cam Pecker?
     
  5. Pecker

    Pecker Retired Moderator
    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    83,922
    Likes Received:
    34
    Not yet, Lex. My son is looking for a good one for me so I can cam with my grandkids.
     
  6. Lex

    Lex
    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,536
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In Your Darkest Thoughts and Dreams
    Very cool. They have some good and rather inexpensive ones at Target.

    Once you have one, do you think you would ever consider showing your, ah-hem, package?
     
  7. Pecker

    Pecker Retired Moderator
    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    83,922
    Likes Received:
    34
    Not likely lex. :lol: I've no interest in making live horror movies.
     
  8. Lex

    Lex
    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,536
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In Your Darkest Thoughts and Dreams
    HAHA. Well, I'm sure from your stories that you thick tool and heavy loads would make alot of people smile. Horror to you, heaven to others.
     
  9. ziggity

    ziggity New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    193
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area CA
    it was a mistake of me to post the program but not give even a bit of a tutorial..

    so here it is!

    i suggest that this program only be used with a broadband connection (DSL or Cable or T1.. generally any connection faster than dialup is broadband, i think). certain connections may have issues and may not be able to broadcast... if not, sorry. but give it a try before you rule yourself out :)

    1. install the program

    2. open program (WME 9 Series)

    3. BE CONNECTED TO THE INTERNET! (you probably are, but it's important. i'm sure you knew that :p)

    3. choose BROADCAST A LIVE EVENT and click okay

    4. in the Device Options step, choose your webcam under Video device. if you like, choose your microphone or webcam mic under Audio device. if you do not want audio, make sure video is CHECKED and audio is unchecked. click next.

    5. in the Broadcast Method step, choose PULL FROM THE ENCODER and click next.

    6.in the Broadcast Connection step, click the FIND FREE PORT button. the URL in the URL for Internet connections box should change to include the free port you got from clicking the button. your URL should look something like this:

    http://64.121.54.50:1890/

    again, we want the URL for Internet connections, not the LAN URL. copy and paste that address somewhere or write it down (http://64.121.54.50:1890/ in my case) and click next.

    7. in the Encoding Options step, keep the Video setting on "Multiple bit rates video (CBR)". if you're confident in your connection speed, you can fiddle with the "High speed" setting at another time. choose the setting of 128kbps/15fps/320x240 and check it off, making sure no other options are checked. in the future, you can also experiment with resolution and bit rates. greater numbers = better picture and speed, at the cost of bandwidth. once you've chosen, click Finish.

    8. it should do a bit of loading, and then it should display "Encoder Ready" at the bottom left corner. towards the top, there should be a nice green button saying "Start Encoding". go ahead and click it.

    9. you should see yourself at this point.

    10. give someone that IP address (like http://64.121.54.50:1890/). tell them to open it in Windows Media Player. (in Windows Media Player, pressing ctrl+u will allow you to open a URL. or you can click file>Open URL). tell them to input that address. if everything is peachy, they should have a brief buffering period, and then be viewing you at a nice framerate and resolution, much better than that offered by MSN, Yahoo, or any other messenger. you can also test this yourself, by encoding, and then opening Windows Media Player and opening the URL. NOTE: if their browser supports video, then they can probably just click the link you give them and view it with Internet Explorer or whatever browser they use.

    good luck, and please give any feedback or comments or problems here, so i can try my best to help. i'm definitely not an expert, but i'll do what i can :)
     
  10. josh82823

    josh82823 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southern California
    Awesome Zig, thanks for posting this. Just got a cam for the first time, and have been having prob's with msn and yahoo - gonna try this.
    Thanks again.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted