Workout at Home

D_Martin van Burden

Account Disabled
Media
Hey gang,

Some friends I keep up with through the Internet have been telling me of their amazing progress over the past year or so with weight training. Now, I'm a poor graduate student who's really strapped for time and can't make it to the gym. I stay busy, but I'm trying to come up with ways to get a little more fitness-active at the apartment.

I know I can stretch, jog in place for some cardio, and do various combinations of situps and pushups for overall upper body.

Does anyone else have exercises to contribute?

jay_too

Experimental Member
Media
Sexuality
100% Straight, 0% Gay
Dee,

What about pull-ups? On alternating sessions, try forward and reverse grips. Pull-ups are really great for the back. I know that I have seen bars that fit in doorways at sport shops.

While you are at the sports shop pick up some dumbells (say 20 lbs. lighter is better when you start). Get the galvanized metal ones they are sold by the pound....so a 20 lb DB at 25 cents per pound would cost $5...or $10 for two.

With DBs you can do

Various curls for the biceps
Kick backs and overhead extensions for the triceps
Shoulder presses, DB flies for the shoulders

For the legs

(you are gonna hate me for these :) ) Lunges.
Calf raises using DBs.
Good mornings using a broom handle.

Oh yeah, to start workout every other day. Normally, you do 3 sets of 10 repetitions.

jay

Longhornjok: Dee,

You can do calisthenics and stretches and cardio without equipment, but if you are looking to either gain muscle mass or sculpt your muscles for definition, you really need some weights. You might want to check out getting a simple flat bench and some dumbbells. I think the best ones are the ones that allow you to add or subtract weight; they take up less room than solid metal ones.

Here's a basic workout guide for free weights from Soloflex.com: