A really shallow rant that probably doesn't deserve its own thread.

snoozan

Experimental Member
Media
Sexuality
No Response
My hair is now a foot shorter than it was 24 hours ago. This was not planned.

About a year ago, I used this natural dye from Whole Foods because it was supposed to be gentle on the air etc. so forth. Well, it was cute for awhile but it eventually grew out and I had to dye it again to touch up the roots. I chose to use my natural color (dark ash blonde) so I could grow out my hair long since I've had short hair since about 8th grade.

My hair turned black.

I live with it for awhile thinking it would eventually fade, but it didn't. So I went to the salon where they gave me some foils to try to blend in what looked like 3 stripes of color (where the red had been, where just the brown had been, and new growth) and some really uneven spots where the dye had not taken. Mind you I've been coloring my hair now for over 15 years and have never had a problem with it, even platinum blonde. Anyway, the foils kinda worked to blend things in somewhat, but not that well. 4 months later, more foils. By this time it was a real drab icky color.

So I went to get all of my hair colored red. Well, the new growth hair turned a gorgeous red. Where that nasty "all natural" color had been turned BLACK. Again. 7 hours and about 5 chemical processes later including straight bleach crystals, the black was gone and the colors kinda matched after it had a toner put on it.

The next day in the shower, the red all came out of the bleached part. The stylist told me to come back in two weeks to get more color and some foils.

That was last night. She colored my hair and used two colors on the different parts to attempt to match them again. Well they turned two different colors, with ther roots being pretty and the ends being muddy and faded. So now she does foils to even it out. After that, the roots had pretty vblonde highlights and the ends didn't.